Last night saw the region’s sporting stars and unsung heroes celebrated once more. Sefton Council was proud to host the Sefton Sports Awards 2017 which was once again held at the Southport Theatre and Convention Centre on Wednesday, July 12.

Organised by Active Sefton, which is part of Sefton Council’s Health and Wellbeing portfolio, the awards this year welcomed guest of honour, Paralympian Lora Fachie.

Born with a hereditary sight condition, para-cyclist Lora lost her sight at the age of 5. Lora won Paralympic gold with Corrine Hall at Rio 2016, and is also a two-time world champion on the road. Add to that a silver and bronze medal in the pursuit at the Track World Championships.

The awards encourage nominations for any volunteers, coaches, teams or individuals who have been successful or shown great tenacity in their sport. Award categories and winners on the night are as follows:

Primary school of the year – Churchtown primary school
Secondary school of the year -Greenbank High School
Services to sport and physical education -Mr Richard Carr
Supporter of the year -Porters Engravers
Club of the year -Winwood Junior Netball Club
Coach of the year award -Craig Moran
The Richard McGrath Award -Aiming for the stars musical theatre group
Service to Sport Award -Simon Burnett
Sports club volunteer of the year award -Jacqueline Westhead
Young Volunteer of the Year -Callum Benson-Murray
School team of the year award -Merefield Sports Team
Team of the year award -Firwood Waterloo Ladies RFC
Junior male sports personality award -Jacob Wishart
Junior Female sports personality award -Emily Brough
Disabled sports personality of the year award -Jack Britton
Male sports personality of the year winner -Jamie Wilson
Female sports personality of the year joint winners -Holly Aitchison and Holly Hibbott
The lifetime achievement award -Thomas Law
Cllr Ian Moncur, Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, said: “I was delighted to attend another fantastic Sefton Sports Awards and meet so many talented and hardworking individuals be recognised for their efforts.”